LOCUST GROVE – When Edwin Wells decided he wanted to run four IMCA Stock Cars at the IMCA World Championships at Batesville Motor Speedway this week, he started working day and night last week to get his Ford ready for the race.

“We have new bodies on the Little Rock cars we race and we got all of the wrapped,” Wells said.

“It’s tough competition. Personally, I look for the guys who have been running up north to have some trouble with the different kind of dirt here, but I could be wrong and they won’t miss a beat. They race a lot more than we do. The whole bunch of those guys are absolutely good at where ever they are. They got a lot more laps.”

Some of those northern drivers include Dalton Flory from Williston, North Dakota, Tim Johnson from Brainerd, Minnesota, Derek Green from Granada, Minnesota and Benji LaCrosse from Casco, Wisconsin.

For Wells, his team will have four chances to win and not any of the four cars will be set up the same.

“All of them are going to look just a like,” Wells said. “The set-ups are going to be pretty close on two of them, but I like mine to handle a little differently. It will be interesting to say the least. I just hope we don’t draw the same heat.”

Wells history of racing began in the early 1990s when he was first introduced to dirt-track racing.

“I dragged raced as a kid growing up and I was in my 30’s when I started dirt track racing,” he said. “I wish I would have started earlier.”

It was Greg Herron, a well-known racer at I-30 Speedway, asked Wells to drive a dirt car for him. But Wells raced asphalt.

“We raced asphalt in 1998 and 1999,” Wells said. “I was down through Alabama and Florida. I was leading the modified race at the Snowball Derby at 5-Flags Speedway and I was making a good showing until the distributor came apart. That was the end of that. It was a lot of fun then, but I was quite a bit younger, too.”

Wells runs his own trucking company in Morrilton, Arkansas.

“I run about 125 to 130 trucks now, when I first started out racing, I had around 35 or 40 trucks, but I was doing good enough I could go off and travel.”

Wells raced late model stock cars in Tampa, Florida and raced for Rookie of the Year in 1999. He continued to race with the likes of Bill Frye.

“Bill taught me all about late model,” Wells said. “He and Johnny both a have driven some of my street stock cars in the past. We have had a big adventure in life you might say.”

Wells is among the drivers in contention for the $50,000 grand prize on tap for Saturday night at BMS.

More Information

Pre-entry List of the Drivers that will be competing in the IMCA WORLD STOCK CAR CHAMPIONSHIP this week at Batesville Motor Speedway

Jeffrey Abbey – Belton, TX

Westin Abbey – Comanche Texas

Derrick Agee – Moberly Missouri

Kevin Atkinson -Vilonia Arkansas

Tom Berry Jr. – Des Moines Iowa

Wayne Brooks -Bald Knob, Arkansas

Derek Brown – Stoutland Missouri

Kyle Brown – Madrid Iowa

Tim Brown – Morrilton Arkansas

Bobby Bryant -West Plains Missouri

Tathan Burkhart -Hays Kansas

Troy Burkhart – Hays Kansas

Tim Carman – Killeen Texas

Taylor Carver Lockesburg Arkansas

Blake Clark – Joshua Texas

Jimmy Comins – East Moline Illinois

Bob Daniels -Des Moines Iowa

Terry DeCarlo Martinez California

Todd Decker -Edmond Oklahoma

Colby Deming -Hobbs New Mexico

Zane DeVilbiss -Farmington New Mexico

Cody Doolittle -Kellerton Iowa

Jason Doyle -Marion Iowa

Dale Eaton -St Joseph Missouri

Tim Eaton -St Joseph Missouri

Jacob Ellithorpe -Maquoketa Iowa

Kevin Flock- Muskogee Oklahoma

Chris Florio -Copperas Cove Texas

Dalton Flory -Williston North Dakota

Anthony Goldsberry -Runnells Iowa

James Goodson -Hensley Arkansas

Derek Green -Granada Minnesota

Bobby Gregory -Morgantown Kentucky

Dylan Haney- Fremont Nebraska

Brint Hartwick -Rose Bud Arkansas

Haydan Hartwick-Rose Bud Arkansas

TJ Herndon – Atwood, TN

Troy Jerovetz- Iowa Falls Iowa

Tim Johnson- Brainerd Minnesota

Benji Kirkpatrick -Elm Mott Texas

Dillon Knight-Burlison Tennessee

Benji LaCrosse -Casco Wisconsin

Scott Lehman -Wichita Kansas

Patrick Linn -Little Rock Arkansas

Darin Long -Jacksonville Arkansas

Cody Lowe -Vilonia Arkansas

Curt Lund -Truman Minnesota

Dan Mackenthun- Hamburg Minnesota

Landon Maddox -Fairview Oklahoma

Mike Mullen -Green Bay Wisconsin

Angel Munoz -Lamar Colorado

Dallon Murty -Chelsea Iowa

Damon Murty -Chelsea Iowa

Curt Myers -Rice Lake Wisconsin

Jake Nelson Williston North Dakota

Dale Nelson – Mankato Minnesota

Blake Peeler -Trimble Missouri

Mike Petersilie- Hoisington Kansas

Tim Pulley- Wynne Arkansas

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.