40 Years Ago

Batesville High School students receiving major school awards at the recent awards night ceremonies were Bob Mount, the Sidney Pickens Award; Rena McFatter, the Trevathan Award; and Kevin Rush, the Porter Stewart Award.

Thought for Today: Though familiarity may not breed contempt, it takes the edge off admiration. – William Hazlitt, English essayist (1778-1830).

Independence County leaders attending the statewide 4-H leaders spring retreat in Little Rock recently were Charlene Cox, Batesville; Helen Lackey, Sulphur Rock; Joanna Sandage, Batesville; and Jane Bess of the 4-H Horse Project Club. The meeting highlighted National 4-H Volunteer Week.

Ray and Edna Lee Morgan will host an open house Sunday at the Rehobeth Baptist Church from 2-4 p.m. in celebration of their 40th wedding anniversary.

The couple was married by the late Byron King. They are the parents of Bobby J. and Betty Jane Morgan of Camden and John David Morgan of Moorefield. They have one grandchild, Nichole.

Obituaries in the paper today are Almon Stanford, Mariam Hughes, Dorr F. Moore and Minnie M. Linn.

Faye Jones won $400 in Thriftway’s weekly cash sweepstakes.

The ground floor of Elvis Presley’s home, Graceland Mansion, will be open for public tours this summer beginning June 7.

Since his death in 1977, Elvis fans have flocked to the mansion grounds where Elvis is buried, but fans haven’t been allowed inside the mansion.

Maintaining Graceland costs $500,000 a year.

His former wife, Priscilla Presley, one of three executors of his estate, said besides generating maintenance money, opening the house where Elvis lived for 20 years will help fans understand their idol better. “Going through Graceland, they’ll be able to feel his presence,” she said.

David DePoyster will become the first Newark High School athlete to compete in the state tennis championships when he begins play in the Class AA tournament at Burns Park in Little Rock Friday.

DePoyster earned a berth in the state tournament by winning the district tournament at Fairfield Bay Monday with victories in four matches.

His district championship caps the first year of the newly organized Newark tennis program.

Several athletic awards were presented by Coach Phillip Langston during the recent Evening Shade High School Athletic Banquet.

Randy Hunt received the rebounding award in the senior boys basketball division and was named the most valuable player for the season. He also received the free throw award with Rick Qualls. Kenny Love received the defense award.

Becky Qualls and Cindy Rogers divided the senior girls awards, with Qualls receiving defense, rebounding and most valuable player and Rogers taking the free throw award.

Brian Bailey made a clean sweep of the junior boys awards, receiving defense, free throw, rebounding and most valuable player.

In the junior girls division, Janet Lankford received the free throw and rebounding awards and was named the most valuable player. Jeannie Collins received the defense award.

Betsy Meacham, the defending state Class AAA and overall champion, will try for a second straight AAA title Thursday at Southern Arkansas University at Magnolia.

Tommy Hall of Newark High School took first place in the discus competition in the District 2-B South junior high school track and field championships Tuesday with a throw of 132 feet.

The eighth-grader’s winning throw represented a new school record.

Other Newark boys who placed in the championship meet include: Tony Vinson, who took third in the 120-yard hurdles and fifth in the pole vault; Brad Griffin, who finished fourth in the 220-yard dash and fifth in the high jump; Randy Nelson, who finished fifth in the 120-yard hurdles; and John Mobley, who finished sixth in the pole vault.

The Newark team of Griffin, Nelson, Mark Wilson and Bryan Ritchie also finished sixth in the 880-yard relay.

In the girls events, Newark’s Marla Gardner took second place, and Deedee McClain took third.

In other events, Tina McClain took third in the shot put; Cindy Matlock took fifth in the high jump; and the team of the two McClains, Lea DePoyster and Sherry Akins took fourth in the 440-yard relay.

Guard, May 5, 1982

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.