University of Arkansas System President Dr. Donald R. Bobbitt announced this week the formation of an advisory committee to assist in the search for the next chancellor of the University of Arkansas Community College at Batesville (UACCB).

Deborah Frazier, who was named chancellor at UACCB in 2007, is retiring May 31.

Bobbitt and Chris Thomason, vice president for planning and development for the UA System, are leading the search for the UA System and will coordinate the recommendation of a short list of final candidates cultivated by the committee for Bobbitt to consider before taking his pick to the Board of Trustees of the University of Arkansas.

“Chancellor Frazier has proven to be an exceptional leader for the campus, and she leaves her institution on excellent footing when one considers the quality of its academic programs, the quality of its student body, and in its finances,” Bobbitt said. “Identifying the next chancellor for UACCB is about fit, and we will find a leader who appreciates the progress the institution has made, while articulating a vision for the future that meets the needs of the community and the state.”

An interim chancellor to take over after Frazier retires is expected to be named later this month.

“Chancellor Frazier’s planned retirement on May 31 does present some challenges for the search committee, but we agree that it is more important that we take the time to do the search properly than to do it quickly,” Bobbitt said. “Thus, I anticipate that an interim chancellor appointment will be necessary for a part of the time from May 31 until the next chancellor is in place. Fortunately, there are a number of very capable leaders at UACCB ready and willing to take on this responsibility.”

Ms. Marietta Candler, division chair of Nursing and Allied Health at UACCB and a 27-year employee at the institution, will chair the search committee, which also includes key members of the campus community (faculty, staff), local leaders that make up its board of visitors and foundation board, and a member of the UA Board of Trustees.

The committee members and their affiliations include:

Marietta Candler, Chairman and Faculty Division Chair

Dr. Maggie Williams, Chair, Board of Visitors

Calvin Wright, Board of Visitors

Dr. Michael Hester, Board of Visitors

Ted Hall, Board of Visitors

Stacy Gunderman, Community

Carter Ford, UACCB Foundation Board

Mindy Shaw, Faculty

Dr. Andrew Seely, Faculty Senate President

Heath Wooldridge, Staff, Physical Plant

Cheyenne Diaz, Staff, Career Pathways

Steve Cox, UA Board of Trustees

Ex-Officio Committee Support

Cheryl Gunther, Administration

Hannah Keller Flanery, Communications,

UA System Support

Dr. Donald R. Bobbitt, UA System President

Chris Thomason, UA System VP-Strategic Planning

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.