Login NowClose 

Bernal, Huskey named to ASM Super Team

Guard File Photo

Batesville's Said Bernal (9) punts the ball during a home game last season at Pioneer Stadium.

By Scott McDonald Guard Sports Editor

The first Arkansas Sports Media High School Football Super Team was finally released Thursday afternoon, and two area athletes appeared on the list.

Batesville senior Said Bernal was voted as the state's best punter while Southside senior Caden Huskey was selected as one of the three top defensive backs in the state.

Before the season began last August, Batesville head coach Dave King remaked that Bernal was the "Best punter in Class 5A, and maybe in the state."

Of course, teams don't really want to see their punter on the field very much but if a team had to have one, Bernal proved he was the best to chose from. He averaged over 40 yards a punt and had several kicks go over 55 yards. Bernal also played some at tight end on offense, hauling in several catches this season.

Huskey was actually outstanding on both sides of the ball for the Southside Southerners as he helped lead the team to its third-straight postseason appearance. Huskey was one of several talented running backs for the Southerners, but stood out more in the defensive back as well. He racked up 140 tackles last season along with two interceptions and three fumble recoveries. Huskey also ran for over 500 yards on offense.

For the first ASM Super Team, there are 26 seniors and two juniors. Four were unanimous selections, including TE Hudson Henry of Pulasky Academy and lineman Stacey Wilkins of Camden Fairview on offense with lineman Zach Williams and Malik Chavis of Rison on defense.

Justice Hill, who led the Little Rock Christian Warriors to their first ever state championship, was selected as the state's top quarterback. Hill passed for 2,710 yards and 36 touchdowns and rushed for over 1,000 yards and another 19 touchdowns.

Harrison junior Gabe Huskey and Bryant senior Latavion Scott were selected as the state's best running backs. Huskey rushed for 2,150 yards and 33 touchdowns for the 12-1 Goblins while Scott ran for 1,790 yards and 24 touchdowns for the Class 7A champion Hornets.

Fayetteville junior Connor Flannigan and Pulaski Academy senior John David White were piced as the state's top two receivers. Flannigan had 102 receptions for1,695 yards and 20 touchdowns. White had 77 receptions for 1,532 yards and 26 touchdowns.

Henry, probably the best known tight end in the state, had 86 receptions for 1,207 yards and four touchdowns.

Wilkins leads the offensive line picks that include Robinson's Elliott Harris, Bryant' Blaise Smith, Jonesboro's Darius Thomas and Searcy's Drew Vest.

And Williams (97 tackles, 31 TFL, 17 sacks, 3 fumble recoveries, 5 forced fumbles) anchors the defensive line picks that include Warren's Marcus Miller (52 tackles, 7 TFL, 2 sacks, 4 QB hurries, 1 fumble recovery), Bryant's KaJuan Rrobinson (55 tackles, 15 TFL) and Booneville's Noah Reyes (60 tackles, 25 TFL).

The top linebackers selected were Marion senior Timon Akins (107 tackles, 9 TFL, 2 sacks), Fort Smith Southside senior Darin Davenport (125 tackles, 3 TFL, 2 INT, 2 forced fumbles), Osceola senior Jariq Scales (113 tackles) and Bentonville West Kendall Young (99 tackles, 8 sacks, 1 forced fumble, 1 blocked FG.).

Chavis (46 tackles, 1 TFL, 6 pass breakups) anchors the defensive backfield that includes Huskey and Arkadelphia's Victor Tademy (15 tackles, 2 TFL, 3 INT).

Greenwood's Grant Ennis was picked as the top place kicker. Ennis was 11-for-11 on field goals with a long of 45 and was 64-for-66 on extra points.

Morrilton's Mason Adams was selected as the state's top kick returner. He averaged 11.2 on kickoff returns with a long of 46, and averaged 14.9 yards on punt returns with a long of 70.

Three athletes were selected as All-Purpose players, including Northside's Derrick Wise (1,296 yards and 14 touchdowns passing, 1,071 yards and 13 touchdowns rushing), Dumas' Chris Harris (accounted for 3,346 yards and 40 touchdowns) and Salem's Jordan Turner (rushed for 2,885 yards and 38 touchdowns).

Arkansas Sports Media High School Football Super Team

Following is a 28-player Super Team as voted on by a panel of sportswriters, sportscasters and other sports media for the 2018 high school football season that ended in December. (* denotes unanimous selection):


QB -- Justice Hill, senior, Little Rock Christian

RB -- Gabe Huskey, junior, Harrison

RB -- Latavion Scott, senior, Bryant

WR -- Connor Flannigan, junior, Fayetteville

WR -- John David White, senior, Pulaski Academy

TE -- Hudson Henry, senior, Pulaski Academy*

OL -- Stacey Wilkins, senior, Camden-Fairview*

OL -- Elliott Harris, senior, Joe T. Robinson

OL -- Blaise Smith, senior, Bryant

OL -- Darius Thomas, senior, Jonesboro

OL -- Drew Vest, senior, Searcy


DL -- Zach Williams, senior, Pulaski Robinson*

DL -- Marcus Miller, senior, Warren

DL -- Kajuan Robinson, senior, Bryant

DL -- Noah Reyes, senior, Booneville

LB -- Timon Akins, senior, Marion

LB -- Darin Davenport, senior, Fort Smith Southside

LB -- Jariq Scales, senior, Osceola

LB -- Kendall Young, senior, Bentonville West

DB -- Malik Chavis, senior, Rison*

DB -- Caden Huskey, senior, Southside Batesville

DB -- Victor Tademy, senior, Arkadelphia


Kick-Returner -- Mason Adams, senior, Morrilton

Kicker -- Grant Ennis, senior, Greenwood

Punter -- Said Bernal, senior, Batesville

All Purpose -- Derrick Wise, senior, Fort Smith Northside

All Purpose -- Chris Harris, senior, Dumas

All-Purpose -- Jordan Turner, senior, Salem