Login NowClose 

Archers compete in world tourney

Members of the Batesville Junior Pioneers archery team are (from left, front row) Mason Salter, Luke Beeser, Alyson Bandy, Zane Castleman, Gabby Dockins; (middle row) Levi Branscum, Willow Lumby, Jackson McCormick, Averie Slayden, Jayla Cole, Carissa Cordell, Sophia Scott, Taryn Crouch; (back row) Konnor Fulbright, Ella Marshall, Trenton Hodge, Gentry Moody, Camden Ryan, McKenna Stolarik, Abigail Fraley and Savannah Martin.

Photo submitted

The Batesville Pioneers junior and senior high archery teams recently competed in the the NASP World Archery Tournament held last weekend in Louisville, Kentucky.

Over 6,000 archers representing 300 teams participated in the event.

Archers qualified to shoot at the world competition based on team and individual results from the national tournament.

The national tournaments set a new record with 18,000 archers from over 900 teams.

State tournaments were held in 45 states to determine who advanced to the national tournaments held in Salt Lake City, Utah, and Louisville.

The BJHS team placed 17th with a team score of 3,278.

Gabby Dockins shot 286 to place 10th among seventh-grade girls.

Ella Marshall's 284 was 15th for sixth-grade girls.

Konnor Fulbright came in 20th with his 277 for sixth-grade boys.

The Junior Pioneers' season started in January with first place in the Bryant Bow Bash followed by first place at regional. Their fourth-place finish at state was just three points from first. They were the top Arkansas team to qualify at national to move on to the world.

Batesville High School placed 57th in an extremely tough high school division.

Top archer Jared Stagner shot 286 for 23rd place in 11th-grade boys.

The Pioneers' season started with a second-place trophy at Bryant followed by a first-place at regionals.

A third-place finish and outstanding team score at State Tournament enabled them to move on to Nationals.

Their team score at National qualified them for World. They also earned top Arkansas high school team to advance to the world.

The teams are coached by Susan Parker, Kandy Tosh, Jody Tosh and Bill Luster.